MOTORISTS can have their driver’s license suspended in six little-known ways – without even getting behind the wheel.
There are many obvious ways to lose your license while driving, such as doing so recklessly or under the influence of alcohol.
But you can also have it suspended for a number of reasons unrelated to the driving, such as non-payment of child support.
In most cases, a conviction means your license will be suspended.
However, if you are a repeat offender, you could permanently revoke your license or even send yourself to jail.
Below, we’ve listed six ways, but keep in mind that the laws vary by state.
1. Non-payment of child support
If you are behind on child support payments, your license could be suspended.
The amount and timing vary by region, but you will be notified and have the opportunity to correct the situation before it happens.
For example, in California, the licensing agency will give you 150 days to respond the first time.
But if that happens again, you will only have 30 days to get back to them before your license is suspended.
If losing your license makes it harder for you to get to work and earn income to make the payments, you can apply for a temporary license in some states.
2. Possession of alcohol by minors
If you are under the legal drinking age and are caught drinking, you may also have your license suspended.
Most states suspend licenses between 60 days and up to a year, but again that depends on the state and how often you have done so.
In the state of New Jersey, young people over the age of 18 but under the age of 21 will have their license suspended for six months if they are caught with alcohol in the car.
This applies even if he or she is not driving.
3. Default on your student loans
The average student loan debt is almost $ 33,000 per borrower, but a default could mean you lose your license.
This means that you will have to deal with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), as well as with your lender.
According to New York Times data obtained in 2017, 20 states at the time suspended driver’s licenses if motorists did not repay their loans.
Students on federal loans do not have to make their repayments until October 1 of this year in the wake of the coronavirus pandemic.
It could still be extended by President Joe Biden, but that is not yet confirmed.
4. Skip school
If you frequently miss school, some states will deny you the right to drive.
In Florida, for example, teens under the age of 18 can have their learner’s permit or license suspended if they miss more than 15 days of school.
This applies in the case of unexcused absences within a period of 90 days.
5. Write bad checks
We can all make mistakes, especially when it comes to writing checks.
But if you write bad checks on purpose, it can lead to license suspension in states like Indiana and New York.
A bad check is any payment that is canceled, invalidated, rejected or not paid in full.
6. If you are in debt to your state
If you are in debt to your state, it could cost you your license, at least temporarily.
Usually, these are large debts of around $ 10,000 or more, and the state will let you know before you lose anything.
This applies in states like New York and Massachusetts, to name a few.
However, a new proposal, first announced in February, seeks to end driver license suspensions in Massachusetts due to fines and unpaid fees.
Drinking coffee or water while driving could get you a huge fine as the States crack down.
During this time, driving with headphones could mean you could be fined.
We show you how to find a cheap engine as used car prices soar.