New Jersey drivers are now required to “move” and slow down to overtake bicycles, scooters and pedestrians on the roads.
Governor Phil Murphy signed the law on Thursday.
The proposal aims to protect cyclists, walkers, runners, scooters and skaters, who together account for 34% of those killed on the roads, said Sonia Szczesna, director of active transportation for the Tri-State Transportation Campaign.
“Recent data shows that the pedestrian death rate in New Jersey increased 9% more than the national average last year,” Szczesna said.
So far this year, according to state police statistics, cyclists and pedestrians have been responsible for 62 of the 216 road fatalities in the state.
42 other states have so-called “safe passage” laws.
Here’s what you need to know about this new law:
When approaching a pedestrian or a person on a bicycle, skateboard or scooter, drivers should:
- Move into a lane when passing, if safe to do so, or leave a space of four feet between the car and the person being passed.
- If it is not safe to move in a lane, drivers should slow down to 25 mph.
- Violators incur a fine of $ 100, but no motor vehicle points.
- If a driver breaks the law and causes bodily injury, the driver could face a fine of $ 500 and two motor vehicle points.
LOOK: What important laws were passed in the year you were born?
The data in this list was acquired from reliable online sources and media. Read on to find out which major law was passed in the year you were born, and learn its name, vote count (if any), impact, and meaning.